2021 Federal Council Elections

Voting is now open!


You can get to know the candidates for each Federal Council position by checking out their bios, reading their thoughts on issues of Green governance, and watching the recordings of the two official Meet the Federal Council Candidates webinars we held on Saturday, July 10th, and Sunday, July 11th. You can also join the conversation on Volunteer Slack in the #2021-council-elxns-conseil channel! Voting is open until 3:00pm EDT on August 11th, 2021.

All members are eligible to vote for the national positions of President, Vice President - English, Vice President - Francophone, and Fund Representative. Provincial representative positions are elected by members living in that province.

Members will receive their email ballot from vote@simplyvoting.com. It includes a link to your ballot and a unique password. If you received a voting postcard in the mail, visit https://gpc.simplyvoting.com and enter the password on your postcard in order to access your ballot.

If you have not received your ballot, or require other assistance, please email us at elections@greenparty.ca!

Federal Council Candidates

President: Carole Chan, Lorraine Rekmans

Vice President - English*: Lisa Gunderson, George Orr, Zachary Typhair, Keith Wiley

Vice President - Francophone: Clément Badra, Samuel Moisan-Domm

Fund Representative*: Colin Griffiths, Carrie McLaren

Alberta Representative: Natalie Odd

Saskatchewan Representative*: Thomas Boysen

Manitoba Representative: Pearson Singbeil Montgomery

Quebec RepresentativeJean-Charles Pelland, Thomas Rolain

New Brunswick Representative: Louise Comeau, Delaney Crawford, Rebecca Redmile-Blaevoet, John Reist

Nova Scotia Representative*: Nicholas Hendren, Matthew Piggott, Thomas Trappenberg

Prince Edward Island Representative*: Darcie Lanthier

Newfoundland and Labrador Representative: Kim Bell

* = indicates a one year term.

Federal Council

Federal Council is the governing body of the Green Party of Canada. There are 18 voting members consisting of 11 Provincial and Territorial Representatives, 1 President, 2 Vice Presidents, 1 Fund Representative, 2 Youth Representatives, and the Leader. Each Councillor is elected for two years. Half of the positions are elected in odd numbered years, while the other half are elected in even numbered years.

Federal Council governs the Green Party of Canada on behalf of members like you. It is essentially the board of the directors for the Party, determining planning, vision and budget. View the current composition of Council >>

Important dates

The deadline for nominations was June 25th at 3:00pm EDT. The extended application period for the positions of Vice President English and Fund Representative closed on June 27th at 3:00pm EDT.

The campaign period took place from June 28th to July 12th. The deadline to sign up new members in order for them to be able to vote is July 12th.

Online voting will begin on July 12th at 3:00pm EDT. The deadline to request a paper ballot is July 26th. Voting will end on August 11th.

Candidates must submit their financial declaration and report forms by August 18th. The results of the election will be announced on this site by August 19th.

More information

The rules governing this election >>
Job descriptions >>
Ballot instructions >>


For all questions and for assistance with your ballot, please email elections@greenparty.ca or 1-866-868-3447. Complaints must be submitted via the Federal Council Election and Appointment Complaint Form.